- Uninsured, underinsured, medically underserved and minority women, and
- Women who have never been screened for breast or cervical cancer who are:
50 years of age and older for mammography screenings.
40 years of age and older for cervical cancer screenings.
To qualify for MS-BCCP, a woman must meet all of the following guidelines:
Income: Household income at or below 250% of Federal Poverty Level. View income table
Insurance status: Uninsured, underinsured, or without third-party payers such as Medicaid or Medicare Part B
Resident: State of Mississippi for at least 12 consecutive months
Enrollment Age: 21-64 years old, as follows:
- For cervical cancer screening: Age 21 to 64
- For breast cancer screening: Age 40 to 64
For women aged 40-49 years old, breast screening is offered. Providers must call BCCP for prior approval.
- For breast or cervical diagnostic services: Age 21 to 64
Enrolled by: A contracted BCCP Provider
- Screening and/or diagnostic mammograms annually for women 40-64 years of age
- Those women who are over the age of 64 without a social security number may qualify for screening and diagnostic services
- Those women ages 21-39 may qualify for screening and diagnostic services
- Diagnostic mammogram, ultrasound, and breast biopsies, if indicated
- Cervical biopsies, if indicated
BCCP will not provide additional screening services (Pap exam, pelvic exam, or clinical breast exam) to Medicare Part B recipients.
Annual coverage for a screening mammogram for women 65 years of age and older.
- Pap Exam/Pelvic Exam
Covered every 3 years, unless a women is at high risk for cervical cancer. If at high risk, coverage is provided annually.
- Clinical Breast Exam
Specifically included as part of the office visit for a Pap exam/pelvic exam. Therefore, coverage would be provided every 3 years, unless a women is at high risk.
Women can be referred to Medicaid who:
- Have been screened, enrolled & diagnosed with breast and/or cervical cancer by a contracted provider.
- Need treatment for breast or cervical cancer
- Are not yet 65
- Must be a resident of the state of Mississippi with a valid social security number
- Are not otherwise covered by creditable coverage as defined in the Public Health Services Act PL 106-354
For more information about the program, please call 1-800-721-7222.