Mississippi State Department of Health

Health Department Hosts One-Stop Shop Event for Back-to-School Forms
July 26, 2019


JACKSON, Miss. – In order to accommodate busy parents gearing up for the new school year, the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) will host a one-stop shop for required school entry/registration forms.

This special weeklong event will allow parents to get a copy of their child’s Form 121 (shot record) if the child is up-to-date on vaccination requirements as well as their birth certificate at the same time and same place.

MSDH Office of Vital Records
222 Marketridge Drive, Ridgeland
(Off Highland Colony Parkway)
8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday, July 29 – Friday, August 2

“We understand how busy parents are, and we wanted to make the process of getting required forms for school registration as convenient as possible,” said MSDH State Health Officer Dr. Thomas Dobbs. “This event was planned to help parents get what they need at the same time, same location.”

During this event, the child’s Form 121 will be available for free if the child is up-to-date on vaccination requirements. Birth certificates will be available the same day for $17; each additional certified copy is $6.

Mississippi state law requires children to be immunized against childhood diseases to enter public or private school, Head Start or daycare. There are also required vaccinations for first-time school entry in Mississippi as well as a requirement for 7th grade entry.

Parents must provide the school with a Certificate of Immunization Compliance (Form 121) from their immunization provider prior to school entry. The child’s birth certificate is also required for school registration.

Immunizations are available at county health departments by appointment.

Press Contact: MSDH Office of Communications, (601) 576-7667
Note to media: After hours or during emergencies, call 601-576-7400.

Find this page at http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/index.cfm/index.cfm

print  close