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Title 15:  Mississippi State Department of Health 

Part 11: Bureau of Child Care Facilities 

Subpart 55: Child Care Facilities Licensure 

CHAPTER 3:  REGULATIONS GOVERNING REGISTRATION OF CHILD 

RESIDENTIAL HOMES 

Subchapter 1: GENERAL 

Rule 3.1.1 Legal Authority   The Child Residential Home Notification Act, §43-16-1 et 

seq. of the Mississippi Code of 1972 provides the legal authority under which the 

Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum regulations for child 

residential homes defined under the law.  The Mississippi State Department of Health 

shall be the notification agency for all child residential homes, and the department 

shall discharge the provisions the Child Residential Home Notification Act, §43-16-1 

et. seq. of the Mississippi Code of 1972. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.1.2 Purpose 

1. The purpose of these regulations is to protect and promote the health and safety of 

children in this state by providing for the registration of child residential homes as 

defined herein to assure that certain minimum standards are maintained in such 

facilities.  This policy is predicated upon the fact that a child is not capable of 

protecting himself, and when his parents for any reason have relinquished his care to 

others, there arises the probability of exposure of that child to certain risks to his 

health and safety that require the offsetting statutory protection of registration.  This 

document and its appendices constitute the Regulations Governing the Registration of 

Child Residential Homes. 

2. A child residential home may exceed the minimum quality standards required in 

these regulations, but may not operate without meeting the minimum standards set 

forth in these regulations. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.1.3 Severability  If any provision of these regulations or the application thereof to 

any persons or circumstances shall be held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect the 

provisions or application of these regulations which can be given effect without the 

invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of these regulations are 

declared to be severable. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 



Rule 3.1.4 Definitions 

1. Act:  The Child Residential Home Notification Act, §43-16-1 et. seq. of the 

Mississippi Code of 1972. 

2. Agency Representative:  An authorized representative of the Mississippi State 

Department of Health. 

3. Child:  A person who has not reached the age of 18 years or who has not otherwise 

been legally emancipated. 

4. Child Residential Home:  Any place, facility or home operated by any person which 

receives children who are not related to the operators and whose parents or guardians 

are not residents of the same facility for supervision, care, lodging and maintenance 

for 24 hours a day, with or without transfer of custody. 

 The term “A Child Residential Home” shall not include: 

 

a. residential homes which are licensed by the Mississippi Department of 

Human Services under the provisions of §43-15-5, Mississippi Code of 

1972 (such facility shall hereafter be known as a Residential Child-Caring 

Agency); 

b. any public school; 

c. any such home operated by a state agency; 

d. child care facilities as defined in §43-20-5, Mississippi Code of 1972; 

e. youth camps as defined in §75-74-3, Mississippi Code of 1972; or 

f. health care facilities licensed by the Department of Health. 

5. Department:  The Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH). 

6. Person:  An individual, partnership, organization, association, or corporation. 

7. Director:  An individual, designated by the operator, who has met minimum state 

requirements and who has on-site responsibility for the operation of a child care 

facility.  This person may or may not be the operator. 

8. Health:  The condition of being sound in mind and body and encompassing an 

individual's physical, mental, and emotional welfare. 

9. Operator:  Any person, acting individually or jointly with another person or persons, 

who shall establish, own, operate, conduct, or maintain a child residential home.  The 

child residential home registration shall be issued in the name of the operator, or, if 

there is more than one (1) operator, in the name of one (1) of the operators.  In the 



event that there is more than one (1) operator, all statutory and regulatory provisions 

concerning the background checks of operators shall be equally applied to all 

operators of a facility, including, but not limited to, a spouse who jointly owns, 

operates or maintains the child residential home regardless of which operator is 

named on the license. 

10. Parent:  As used in these regulations, parent shall mean custodial parent, legal 

guardian, foster parent, guardian ad litem, and other individuals or institutions to 

whom a court of competent jurisdiction has granted legal authority over the child. 

11. Personal Care:  Assistance rendered by personnel of the child care facility in 

performing one or more of the activities of daily living, which includes but is not 

limited to the feeding, personal grooming, supervising and dressing of children placed 

in the child care facility. 

12. Safety:  The condition of being protected from hurt, injury or loss. 

13. Service Staff : A person who provides support services such as cooking, cleaning, or 

driving a vehicle, but is not a caregiver. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 2: REGISTRATION 

Rule 3.2.1 Requirement for Registration 

1. No person shall establish, own, operate, conduct, or maintain a child residential home 

in this state without being registered pursuant to these regulations. 

2. The operator of any child residential home shall provide notification/registration in 

accordance with these regulations within 60 days of beginning operation. 

The registering authority will require no entity exempt from the licensure requirement 

to apply for a license.  However, should an exempt entity desire to obtain a license, it 

will be subject to these regulations. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.2 Eligibility for Registration  Any Child Residential Home not meeting the 

following criteria is required by §43-15-101 through §43-15-125 to be licensed by the 

Mississippi Department of Human Services.  It is the responsibility of operator of the 

home claiming exemption from licensure to provide the required documentation to both 

the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) and the Mississippi Department of 

Human Services (MDHS). 

To be exempt from MDHS licensure and eligible to register with the MSDH, a Child 

Residential Home shall: 



1. Operate under the auspices of a religious institution. 

a. Such religious institution must have a tax exempt status as a nonprofit religious 

institution in accordance with §501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as 

amended, or 

b. The real property owned and exclusively occupied by the religious institution 

must be exempt from location taxation. 

2. The agency or institution must be in compliance with the requirements of the Child 

Residential Notification Act, §43-16-1 et seq., Mississippi Code of 1972 and these 

regulations. 

3. The agency or institution must not be in violation of §43-16-21(c) regarding the abuse 

and/or neglect of any child served by such home who has been adjudicated by the 

youth court as an abused and/or neglected child. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.3 Application for Registration  An application for registration under these 

regulations shall be made to the registering agency upon forms provided by it and shall 

contain such information as the registering agency may reasonably require. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.4 Registration Fee  All registration fees, registration renewal fees, and 

administrative charges shall be paid by certified check or money order payable to the 

Mississippi State Department of Health, and are non-refundable.  Checks returned for 

insufficient funds, closed account, etc., shall be assessed an additional $50 fee. 

1. Initial Registration Fee……………………………………………...$100.00 

2. Registration Renewal Fee…………………………………………..$100.00 

3. Reinstatement Fee…………………………………………………..$200.00 

4. Returned Check Fee…………………………………………………$ 50.00 

5. Late Fee……………………………………………………………..$  25.00 

6. Fingerprinting Fee (Per Fingerprint Card)………………………….$  50.00 

NOTE: Except for the fingerprinting fee, no governmental entity or agency that operates 

a child care facility shall be required to pay the fees set forth in this section.  

Third party providers that contract with a state agency for the provision of child 

care services are subject to all fees, fines, etc.  Further, should an entity exempt 

from licensure apply for a license, it shall be subject to all fees listed in this 

section. 



 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

 

 

Rule 3.2.5 Certificate of Inspection by Fire Department 

1. A certificate of inspection and approval by the fire department of the municipality 

or other political subdivision in which the child residential home is located shall be 

submitted to the licensing agency with the application and registration fee.  Except 

that if no fire department exists where the facility is located, the State Fire Marshall 

shall certify as to the inspection for safety from fire hazards 

2. The inspection form to be used for fire inspections shall be MSDH Form #333 

and shall be signed by a signatory authority of the fire inspection authority making 

the inspection 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.6 Inspection:  An agency representative(s) shall inspect each child care facility 

prior to issuing or renewing a registration to assure compliance with these regulations. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.7 Record of Inspection:  Whenever an inspection is made of a child residential 

home, the findings shall be recorded on an official inspection form and furnished to the 

operator, director, and/or their representative, at the time the inspection is made. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.8 Renewal of Registration  

1. The registering agency shall issue licenses which may be renewed annually.  The 

registering agency shall mail renewal notices, at least 75 days prior to the expiration 

date of the license to the address of the operator registered with the registering 

agency.  The operator shall: 

a. Complete the renewal form;  

b. Submit any and all certificates of inspection and approval required by the 

registering agency; 

c. Enclose the renewal fee; and  

d. File the above with the registering agency at least 30 days prior to the expiration 

date on the registration. 



NOTE: Renewal applications postmarked less than 30 days prior to the expiration 

date of the registration shall be assessed a $25.00 late fee. 

 

2. An operator who does not file the renewal application prior to the date that the 

registration expires will be deemed to have allowed the registration to lapse.  Said 

registration may be reinstated by the registering agency, in its discretion, by payment 

of both the renewal fee and the reinstatement fee, provided said application for 

reinstatement is made within one (1) month of the expiration date of the registration.  

After the one month reinstatement period, it shall be required that an application for 

an initial registration be submitted.  All registration requirements in effect at the time 

the new initial application is filed shall be met.  In addition all delinquent fees shall 

be paid. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.9 Registration Not Transferable or Assignable  Each registration shall be issued 

only for the premises and operator named in the application and shall not be transferable 

or assignable.  A change of ownership includes, but is not limited to, inter vivos gifts, 

purchases, transfers, lease arrangements, cash and/or stock transactions or other 

comparable arrangements whenever any person or entity acquires or controls a majority 

interest of the child residential home.  Changes of ownership from partnerships, single 

proprietorships, or corporations to another form of ownership are specifically included. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.2.10 Display of Registration  The current registration issued by the registering agency 

to the named child residential home and operator shall be posted and displayed in a 

conspicuous place and in easy view of all persons who enter the child care facility.  The 

facility operator shall also post next to the license, in plain view, a notice provided by the 

MSDH that informs the public of where and how they may report a complaint against the 

facility. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 3: RIGHT OF ENTRY AND VIOLATIONS 

Rule 3.3.1 Right of Entry  An agency representative may enter any child residential home 

for the purpose of making inspections or investigations to determine compliance with 

these regulations. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.3.2 Violations:  If violations noted on the inspection form are not corrected within 

the period of time specified by the registering agency, a registration may be denied, 

suspended, or revoked in accordance with these regulations. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 



Subchapter 4: INITIAL NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS  

Rule 3.4.1 When making the initial notification that a Child Residential Home is operating or 

intending to operate, the executive director of the Child Residential Home shall 

provide the following information to the department on forms provided by the 

department: 

1. Documentation that the agency is exempt from the licensure requirements of 

the MDHS. 

2. Name, street address, mailing address and phone number of the home. 

3. Name of the executive director and all staff members of the home. 

4. Name and description of the agency or organization operating the home, which 

shall 1include a statement as to whether or not the agency or organization is 

incorporated. 

5. Name and address of the sponsoring organization of the home, if applicable. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.4.2 The names of all children living at the home which shall include the following 

personal data: 

1. Full name and a copy of the child’s birth certificate; 

2. Name and address of parent(s) or guardian(s); and 

3. Name and address of other nearest relative. 

4. School(s) attended by the children served by such home. 

5. Fire department or State Fire Marshal inspection certificate. 

6. Local health department inspection certificate. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.4.3 Proof, to be shown by the sworn affidavit of the executive director of the home 

that the home has performed: 

1. Criminal record background checks, 

2. Felony conviction record information checks on all employees, prospective 

employees, volunteers and prospective volunteers at such home, and 

3. Such records are maintained to the extent permitted by law, for every such employee, 

prospective employee, volunteer, and prospective volunteer. 



Criminal record background and felony conviction record information checks shall be 

accomplished through submitting fingerprints through the MSDH to the Department of 

Public Safety and Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.4.4 Proof, to be shown by sworn affidavit of the executive director of the home, that 

medical records are maintained for each child. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 5: ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF NOTIFICATION AND CERTIFICATE 

OF REGISTRATION 

Rule 3.5.1 Upon the submission of a properly completed notification form accompanied by  

1. A certificate of inspection and approval by the fire department of the municipally or 

other political subdivision in which the home is located, and 

2. a certificate of inspection and approval by the health department of the county in 

which the home is located, the department will acknowledge that the home has 

properly notified the department regarding its operation and issue a “Certificate of 

Registration.” 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.5.2 Upon issuing the acknowledgment of notification and certificate of registration 

the MSDH shall provide copies of the notification form to the chancery court or the youth 

court, as appropriate, of the county in which the home is located. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 6: MONTHLY REPORTS  

Rule 3.6.1 Each child residential home shall file monthly reports with the department, on 

forms provided by the department.  Said monthly report shall indicate any changes in 

the notification information originally provided in accordance with Subchapter 4 of 

these regulations which have occurred, if any. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 7: ANNUAL INSPECTION OF HOMES 

Rule 3.7.1 The department, once a year, shall make or cause to be made inspections limited 

to health, nutrition, cleanliness, sanitation, written medical records for children, discipline 

policy, family communication policy, and required criminal checks of all child residential 

homes. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 



Rule 3.7.2 Reasonable additional inspections may be made as often a may be deemed 

necessary by the department, but shall not be scheduled so as to disrupt the normal 

activities of the home. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.7.3 Annual fire inspections are required and shall be made of the home. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Rule 3.7.4 Any violation of state law on the premises of a child residential home shall 

immediately be reported by such inspection personnel to the appropriate law enforcement 

official. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 8: REQUIRED WRITTEN POLICIES  

Rule 3.8.1 Every child residential home shall have a written discipline policy and written 

family communication policy which shall be approved in writing, if possible, by the 

parent(s) or guardian(s) of the children residing at such home, and shall be made 

available to authorized inspection personnel upon request. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 9: ENFORCEMENT OF NOTIFICATION/REGISTRATION 

REQUIREMENTS  

Rule 3.9.1 Whenever the department is advised or has reason to believe that any child 

residential home is operating without proper notification in accordance with this 

chapter, it shall request a meeting with the governing board and executive director of 

such home to ascertain the fact. If the department finds that such home is providing 

supervision, care, lodging or maintenance for any children without such notification, 

it shall give the executive director of the home written notice by certified mail that 

such person shall file notification in accordance with this chapter within 60 days after 

receipt of such notice or the department may request a court injunction as provided in 

§43-16-21. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 10: COURT ACTION FOR INJUNCTION OR RESTRAINING ORDER 

AGAINST HOME:  GROUNDS  

Rule 3.10.1 Notwithstanding the existence of any other remedy, the department may, in the 

manner provided by law, in term time or in vacation, upon the advice of the Attorney 

General who shall represent the department in the proceedings, maintain an action in 

the name of the state for an injunction or restraining order to cease the operation of 

the home, and to provide for the appropriate removal of the children from the home 



and placement in the custody of the parents or legal guardians, the Department of 

Human Services, or any other appropriate entity in the discretion of the court. Such 

action shall be brought in the chancery court or the youth court, as appropriate, of the 

county in which such child residential home is located, and shall only be initiated for 

the following violations: 

1. Providing supervision, care, lodging, or maintenance for any children in such 

home without filing notification in accordance with this chapter. 

2. Failure to satisfactorily comply with local health department or State Fire 

Marshal inspections made pursuant to §43-16-15, regarding the health, nutrition, 

cleanliness, safety, sanitation, written records and discipline policy of such home. 

3. Suspected abuse and/or neglect of the children served by such home, as defined 

in §43-21-105, Mississippi Code of 1972. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

Subchapter 11: REGULATION OF PROGRAM CONTENT  

Rule 3.11.1 No governmental agency shall have jurisdiction or authority to regulate or attempt 

to regulate, control or influence the form, manner or content of the religious 

curriculum, program or ministry of a school or of a facility sponsored by a church or 

religious organization. 

Source:  Miss. Code Ann. § 43-16-5. 

 


