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MissIsSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Dear Applicant:

Enclosed you will find the forms necessary for you to apply for licensure as a Respiratory Care
Practitioner. It is strongly suggested that you read the Regulations prior to filling out the
application, and then examine the directions entitled " STEPS TO LICENSURE" to see which

forms are appropriate for you.
Please note the following:

(a) Applications not completed in their entirety will be returned, minus the
application fee, which is non-refundable.

(b) The photograph must be a "passport photo."

(c) The name on the application must match the name on the driver's license
or Social Security Card. We will not accept nicknames, abbreviations, or
alterations.

(d) All fees are to be made payable to the Mississippi State Department of
Health.

If you have any questions regarding the above, please contact our office as follows:

MISSISSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE-RESPIRATORY CARE
P.0. BOX 1700

JACKSON, MS 39215-1700

(601) 364-7360

Please be advised that it isillegal to practice Respiratory Carein Mississippi without being
licensed or exempted by statute or regulations. Individuals engaging in such practices, or
employing non-licensed practitioners, will be subject to criminal and/or civil penalties.
Sincerely,

MSDH Professional Licensure Division

Enclosure



STEPSTO LICENSURE
RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONER

Enclosed is an application packet for a respiratory care practitioner. Two types of
licences are currently issued in Mississippi: Regular and Temporary Permit. The
requirements for each are as follows:

1. Regular License
a. Completed, notarized application.
b. Copy of driver’s license or social security card.
C. Passport style photo (copies of photos are not acceptable)
d.  Application fee - $75.00 (non-refundable).
e. Copy of NBRC card, certificate or passing test scores.
f. Copies of all licensure or registrations from other states.
g Complete the request for credential verification online by going to

https://www.nbrc.org.

2. Temporary Permit (issued once for 6 months — issued up to one year
after graduation from an approved school):

Completed, notarized application.

Copy of driver’s license or social security card.

Passport style photo (copies of photos are not acceptable)
Application fee - $50.00 (non-refundable).

Verification of Education form  showing proof of graduati on and
eligibility to sit for the NBRC examination.

Copies of all licensure or registrations from other states.

o0 o

=

NOTE: Application for temporary permit can be submitted 30 days prior to
graduation.

All requirements must be on file and satisfactory to this office before a license may
be issued.
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MIssISSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
Respiratory Care
Application for Licensure

Check No.
Amount $

/

Date

(Please type or print in ink)

1. Date:
2. Name:
Last First Middle/Maiden
3. Home Address: 4. Telephone Number: ( )
5.
City State Zip Code

6. Email Address:

7. Social Security Number: - - 8. Date of Birth: / /

9. Race: 10. Sex: Maled Femaled  11.U.S.Citizen Nold YesU 12. Legal Alien Nold YesU

13. Place of Employment:

14. Title of Position: 15. Supervisor:
16. Employment Address: 17. Telephone Number: (__)
City State Zip Code
18. Are there any criminal or civil suits pending against you? NoQ YesUd
19. Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor? NoU Yesd

20. Have you ever had a license, registration, or certificate encumbered
in any way, i.e., revoked, suspended, censured, rejected, denied,
placed on probation, reprimanded, etc.? If yes, attach a full explanation
including the type of license, registration, or certificate, and jurisdiction

where the action occurred. NoQ YesU
21.a. Are you currently credentialed by the National Board for Respiratory Care, Inc.? NoU Yesd
b. NBRC certification number: (attach a copy of your certification)
22.Have you currently licensed in another state in the area of Respiratory Care? NoQ YesU

If yes, what state? (Attach a copy of current license)

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 867 E
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Subscribed and sworn to before me this day I, the undersigned, do solemnly swear or affirm that I am the above
applicant. I have read the above application and all statements
contained therein or accompanying this application are true to the
best of my knowledge and belief. I have also read and understand
the Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care
Practitioners and affirm that all conditions for licensure have

been met and will be maintained.

of ,20

My commission expires

Notary Public Applicant’s Signature
Notary Seal Copy of Social Security Card
or

Drivers License

Complete form, enclose fee and mail to: Mississippi State Department of Health , .......................................................................................... :

Professional Licensure: Respiratory Care
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Photo
(only a Passport Photo
will be accepted)

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 867 E
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Please type or print in ink
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MissisSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Respiratory Care
Application for Temporary Permit

Check No.
Amount $

Date /

9. Race:

13. Place of Employment:

10. Sex:

Male 1 Female 4

1. Date:
2. Name:
Last First Middle/Maiden
3. Home Address: 4. Telephone Number: ( )
5.
City State Zip Code
6. Email Address:
7. Social Security Number: - - 8. Date of Birth: / /

11.U.S. Citizen Nold YesU

12. Legal Alien Nold YesUd

19.
20.

21.

22.

23.

14. Title of Position: 15. Supervisor:
16. Employment Address: 17. Telephone Number: (__)
City State Zip Code

18. Are there any criminal or civil suits pending against you? If yes, attach a full explanation.

Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor?

Have you ever had a license, registration, or certificate encumbered

in any way, i.e., revoked, suspended, censured, rejected, denied,

placed on probation, reprimanded, etc.? If yes, attach a full explanation
including the type of license, registration, or certificate, and jurisdiction
where the action occurred.

a.

b.

Are you currently credentialed by the National Board for Respiratory Care, Inc.?

NBRC certification number:

Are you currently a student in a approved Respiratory Care Education Program?

Expected date of graduation

Are you now, or have you ever been licensed in another state in the area of Respiratory Care?

Mississippi State Department of Health

If yes, what state? (Attach a copy of license)

Revised 12-05-13
Page 3 of 5

(attach a copy of your certification)

Nold YesU

Nold YesU

Nold Yesd

Nold YesU

No U

Yes U

Yes U

Form 867 E



Subscribed and sworn to before me this day I, the undersigned, do solemnly swear or affirm that I am the above
applicant. I have read the above application and all statements
contained therein or accompanying this application are true to the
best of my knowledge and belief. I have also read and understand
the Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care
Practitioners and affirm that all conditions for licensure have

been met and will be maintained.

of ,20

My commission expires

Notary Public Applicant’s Signature
Notary Seal Copy of Social Security Card
or

Drivers License

Complete form, enclose fee and mail to: Mississippi State Department of Health , .......................................................................................... :

Professional Licensure: Respiratory Care
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Photo
(only a Passport Photo
will be accepted)

Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 867 E
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Respiratory Care
Verification of Professional Education for Licensure

Instruction to Applicant:
Upon completion of the demographic information and waiver below, this form should be signed, notarized, and forwarded to the

Institution where you obtained your degree in Respiratory Care.

Date

Name (Last, First, Middle, Initial) Maiden Name or Given Surname

Address (Street, City, State and Zip Code) Phone Number Home Work
() () ()

Social Security Number Date of Graduation

Waiver for the Release of Information:

I am applying for licensure as a Respiratory Care Practitioner in the State of Mississippi. I hereby authorize the verification of my
degree conferred and further authorized the release of any transcript or other information, favorable or otherwise, to the

Mississippi State Department of Health, Professional Licensure — Respiratory Care, should this information be requested at any time.

Date Signed

Instructions to Educational Institution:

Upon completion of this form please send to:  Mississippi State Department of Health
Professional Licensure - Respiratory Care
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Name of Institution Location of Institution (City & State)
Dates of Attendance (Month/Year) Total Number of Academic Years
From: To:

Dates Degree Conferred, or, Expected Date Degree Conferred, or, to be Conferred

Program Name & Curriculum Description

Name
Seal of the Institution -
Title
Telephone Number
Mississippi State Department of Health Revised 12-05-13 Form 867 E
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Regulations Governing
Licensure
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Respiratory Care Practitioners
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MissISSIPPI STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Mississippi State Department of Health
Office of Licensure

Professional Licensure Division

P. O.Box 1700

Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700
(601) 364-7360 Fax (601) 364-5057

Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care Practitioners Mississippi State Department of Health - Office of Health Protection
Reformatted January 2012 Amended November 2019 Office of Licensure - Professional Licensure Division



Title 15: Mississippi State Department of Health
Part 19: Bureau of Professional Licensure

Subpart 60: Professional Licensure

CHAPTER 9: REGULATIONS GOVERNING LICENSURE OF RESPIRATORY CARE
PRACTITIONERS
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Title 15: Mississippi State Department of Health
Part 19: Bureau of Professional Licensure

Subpart 60: Professional Licensure

CHAPTER 9: REGULATIONS GOVERNING LICENSURE OF RESPIRATORY CARE
PRACTITIONERS

Subchapter 1: GENERAL

Rule 9.1.1 Purpose: The purpose of these regulations is to safeguard the public's
health, safety, and welfare by establishing minimum qualifications and
creating exclusive titles corresponding to the level of qualifications for
individuals who wish to offer respiratory care services to the public.
Further, in order to insure the highest degree of professional conduct by
those engaged in offering respiratory care services to the public, it is the
purpose of these regulations to provide and impose disciplinary sanctions,
be they civil or criminal, against persons who do not meet or adhere to the
procedures, qualifications, and standards set out in this chapter.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.1.2 Legal Authority: The State Board of Health is authorized to establish
and enforce these rules and procedures by virtue of the "Mississippi
Respiratory Care Practice Act of 1991," Sections 73-57-1 et seq. of
Mississippi Code of 1972, annotated.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 8§73-57-13.

Rule 9.1.3 Definitions: The following terms shall have the meaning set forth below,
unless the context otherwise requires:

1. "Board" shall mean the Mississippi State Board of Health.

2. "Council" shall mean the Respiratory Care Advisory Council.

3. "License" shall mean the document of licensure issued by the Board.
4. “‘Respiratory care" shall mean the allied health professions responsible

for the treatment, management, diagnostic, testing, control, and care of
patients with deficiencies and abnormalities associated with the
cardiopulmonary system, pursuant to the orders of a physician licensed in
the State of Mississippi, and includes "inhalation therapy" and "respiratory
therapy."”

Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care Practitioners Mississippi State Department of Health - Office of Health Protection
Reformatted January 2012 Amended November 2019 Office of Licensure - Professional Licensure Division
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5. "Practice of respiratory care" shall include, but not be limited to: direct
and indirect respiratory care services, including but not limited to the
administration of pharmacological, diagnostic, and therapeutic agents
related to respiratory care procedures necessary to implement a
treatment, disease prevention, pulmonary rehabilitative, or diagnostic
regimen prescribed by a physician; transcription and implementation of the
written or verbal orders of a physician pertaining to the practice of
respiratory care; observing and monitoring signs and symptoms, general
behavior, general physical response to respiratory care treatment and
diagnostic testing, including determination of whether such signs,
symptoms, reactions, behavior, or general response exhibit abnormal
characteristics; and implementation based on observed abnormalities, of
appropriate reporting, referral, respiratory care protocols or changes in
treatment, pursuant to a prescription by a person authorized to practice
medicine under the laws of the State of Mississippi; or the initiation of
emergency procedures under the regulations of the Board or as otherwise
permitted in this act. The practice of respiratory care may be performed in
any clinic, hospital, skilled nursing facility, private dwelling, or other place
deemed appropriate or necessary of the Board, in accordance with the
prescription or verbal order of a physician.

6. "Performance of respiratory care" means respiratory care in
accordance with the prescription of a licensed physician and includes, but
is not limited to, the diagnostic and therapeutic use of the following:
administration of medical gases (except for the purpose of anesthesia),
aerosols and humidification; environmental control mechanisms and
hyperbaric therapy; pharmacologic agents related to respiratory care
procedures; mechanical or physiological ventilatory support;
bronchopulmonary hygiene; cardiopulmonary resuscitation; maintenance
of the natural airway; insertion and maintenance of artificial airways;
specific diagnostic and testing technigues employed in the medical
management of patients to assist in diagnosis, monitoring, treatment, and
research of pulmonary abnormalities, including measurements of
ventilatory volumes, pressures, flows, collection of specimens of blood
and blood gases, expired and inspired gas samples, respiratory
secretions, and pulmonary function testing; and hemodynamic and other
related physiologist measurements of the cardiopulmonary system.

7. "Respiratory care practitioner” means:

a. A person employed in the practice of respiratory care who has the
knowledge and skill necessary to administer respiratory care.

b. A person who is capable of serving as a resource to the physician
in relation to the technical aspects of respiratory care as to safe and
effective methods for administering respiratory care modalities;

Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care Practitioners Mississippi State Department of Health - Office of Health Protection
Reformatted January 2012 Amended November 2019 Office of Licensure - Professional Licensure Division
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C. A person who is able to function in situations of unsupervised
patient contact requiring great individual judgment; and

d. A person capable of supervising, directing, and teaching less skilled
personnel in the provision of respiratory care services.

8. [Reserved]
9. [Reserved]

10.  "Examination" shall mean an entry level examination as administered by
the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC), or its successor Board,
to practice respiratory care or other examination that the Board may

approve.
11.  "Department" shall mean the Mississippi Department of Health.
12.  "Initiation of Emergency Procedure" shall include, but not be limited to,

Advanced Cardiac Life Support, Pediatric Advanced Life Support, and
Neonatal Resuscitation Program, in emergency situations. Procedures
not covered in Rule 9.1.3(5) and (6) above may be performed by only
those Licensed Respiratory Care Practitioners who have successfully
completed a course in each respective appropriate discipline as governed
by the American Heart Association, in accordance with the prescription or
verbal order of a physician.

13.  “Written orders of a physician” shall include, in a hospital licensed in
the State of Mississippi, a set of criteria/requirements outlined and
adopted by the appropriate medical advisory body within the institution
and made part of the formal hospital procedure for respiratory care.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.1.4 Publication: The Department shall publish, annually, a list of the names
and addresses of all persons licensed by the Board as Respiratory Care
Practitioners and a list of all persons whose licenses have been
suspended, revoked, denied renewal, put on probationary status,
censured, or reprimanded.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Subchapter 2: RESPIRATORY CARE ADVISORY COUNCIL ("COUNCIL")

Rule 9.2.1 Council Structure and Purpose: The Council shall consist of nine (9)
members as set forth in the enabling statute, for the terms indicated
therein, and shall serve under the jurisdiction of the State Board of Health.
The purpose of the Council is to serve in an advisory capacity to the Board

Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care Practitioners Mississippi State Department of Health - Office of Health Protection
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in matters relating to the administration and interpretation of the enabling
statute.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.2.2 Meeting: The Council shall meet at least twice each year. Additional
meetings may be held, at the discretion of the chairperson of the Council
or of the Board, upon ten (10) day written notice to the Council members.
A quorum shall consist of five (5) members of the Council, including the
chairperson, and shall be necessary for the Council to take action by vote.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Subchapter 3: State Board of Health (“Board”)

Rule 9.3.1 Responsibilities: The Board, with the advice of the council, shall:

1. establish examination, licensing, and renewal of license criteria for
applicants;
2. maintain an up-to-date list of all individuals licensed to practice respiratory

care, with such list being available, upon request, to the public;

3. refer disciplinary actions of any individual engaged in the practice of
respiratory care to the appropriate government agency for prosecution,
whether licensed or otherwise, or, in its discretion, refer same to the
appropriate committee or council;

4. conduct disciplinary hearings, upon specified charges, of a licensee;

5. maintain an up-to-date list of all individuals whose license has been
suspended, revoked, or denied and make such list available to public
inspection and supply such list to similar regulatory boards in other states
or jurisdictions;

6. keep a record of all proceedings of the Board, and make said record
available to the public; and

7. direct the Department to promulgate and implement rules and procedures
to carry out the purpose of the Act.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Subchapter 4: Licensure

Rule 9.4.1 Licensure Requirements: An applicant for licensure shall submit to the
Department, verified by oath, written evidence in form and content
satisfactory to the Department that the applicant holds a credential,

Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care Practitioners Mississippi State Department of Health - Office of Health Protection
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conferred by the National Board of Respiratory Care, or its successor
Board, as a Certified Respiratory Technician (CRT) and/or a Registered
Respiratory Therapist (RRT), or their successor credentials, providing
such credentials have not been suspended or revoked, or at the time of
application have not lapsed.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.4.2 [Reserved]
SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.4.3 Temporary Permit:

1. The Board may, in its discretion, issue a temporary permit to practice
respiratory care for a period of six (6) months to an applicant for a license,
pending the compliance of the requirements for licensure, providing the
applicant submits to the Department, verified by oath, in form and content
satisfactory to the Department that the applicant is a student in an
approved respiratory care education program and expects to graduate
within thirty (30) days of the application for a temporary permit and who is
eligible to sit for the CRT, RRT, or their successor examination.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule9.44  Abandonment: An application shall be deemed abandoned by the
Department if, after two (2) years from the date of filing, the requirements
for licensing have not been completed and submitted to the Department.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Subchapter 5: Professional Identification

Rule 9.5.1 Titles and Abbreviation: A person issued a license to practice
respiratory care by the Mississippi State Board of Health may use the title
"Licensed Respiratory Care Practitioner" and the abbreviations "L.R.C.P.,"
"R.C.P.," or"R.C.P.-L."

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.5.2 Production and Display of License: A person issued a license to
practice respiratory care by the Mississippi State Board of Health shall
show said license when requested.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-57-13.
Subchapter 6: Renewal of License
Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care Practitioners Mississippi State Department of Health - Office of Health Protection
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Rule 9.6.1

1.

General Provisions:

The Board shall issue licenses which shall be renewed biennially,
beginning with the first renewal term after the issuance of the license.

The licensure period for renewal purposes shall be construed as
September 15t through August 315 of odd numbered years.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.6.2

Procedure for Renewal of License: The Department shall provide
notices, at least thirty (30) days prior to the renewal date, to the last
address registered with the board, to the persons to whom licenses were
issued or renewed during the preceding renewal period. The notice of
renewal shall indicate the renewal process and required fees to be
completed before the date of expiration.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.6.3

Failure to Renew: A licensee who does not file, with the Department, his
renewal application within the renewal period will be deemed to have
allowed his license to lapse. Said licensee may be reinstated by the
Department, in its discretion, by the payment of the renewal fee and a
reinstatement fee, provided said application for reinstatement is made
within two (2) years of the end of the renewal period.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13

Subchapter 7: Continuing Education

Rule 9.7.1

Definition and Philosophy: Each individual licensed as a respiratory
care Practitioner is responsible for optimum service to the consumer and
is accountable to the consumer, the employer, and the profession for
evidence of maintaining high levels of skill and knowledge. Pursuant to
the Act, continuing education is mandatory. Continuing education is
defined as education beyond the basic preparation required for entry into
the profession, directly related to the performance and practice of
respiratory care.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.7.2 Requirements:
1. Regulations set the requirement of twenty (20) clock hours to be accrued
during the licensing term.
Regulations Governing Licensure of Respiratory Care Practitioners Mississippi State Department of Health - Office of Health Protection
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2. Individuals applying for initial licensure within a licensing term must accrue
continuing education hours on a prorated scale. Written notification of
required hours will be sent to the applicant at the time of licensure.

3. Individuals holding a temporary permit are not required to accrue
continuing education hours.

4. Persons who fail to accrue the required continuing education hours shall
be issued a probationary license for a term of two (2) years. Failure to
accrue the required hours will result in the revocation of the license.

Hours accrued are first credited for the delinquent hours lacking from the
previous licensure period, and then applied to the present licensing period.

5. Probationary licenses will be issued for one licensure term only. No
ensuing license may be probationary as a result of not meeting continuing
education requirements.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.7.3 Content Criteria: The content must apply to the field of respiratory care
practice or health care and performance and must be designed to meet
one of the following goals:

1. Update knowledge and skills required for competent performance beyond
entry level as described in current legislation and regulations.

2. Allow the licensee to enhance his knowledge and skills.

3. Provide opportunities for interdisciplinary learning.

4. Extend limits of professional capabilities and opportunities.

5. Facilitate personal contributions to the advancement of the profession.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.7.4  Sources of Continuing Education:

1. Continuing education hours may be accrued from the following sources:
a. Mississippi Society for Respiratory Care
b. American Association for Respiratory Care
C. Mississippi Nursing Association
d. American Nursing Association
e. American Nurses Credentialing Center
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f. Critical Care Nurses Association
g. American Medical Association

2. Academic course work taken for credit, with a passing grade, from a
regionally accredited college or university. The courses must relate to the
profession of respiratory care. One academic semester hour shall be
equivalent to fifteen (15) clock hours for continuing education credit. No
more than fifty percent (50%) of total required hours may be accrued
through academic course work.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.7.5 Reporting Procedures for Continuing Education: Continuing
education hours shall be submitted at the time of renewal. It is the
responsibility of the licensee to insure that the following criteria are met
with respect to continuing education credit:

1. Attendance at seminars, workshops, presentations: Verification of
attendance shall be made by the submission of a continuing education
certificate, a continuing education reporting form signed by the program
chairperson, or proof of having filed with the AARC.

2. Academic course work credits to be accrued must meet the content
criteria in Rule 9.7.3, be cited by title on the continuing education form,
and must be accompanied by a course description from the college or
university catalog and a copy of the transcript or final grade report.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Subchapter 8: Revocation, Suspension and Denial of License

Rule 9.8.1 Standards of Conduct: Licensees may, at the discretion of the Board,
have their license suspended, revoked, or denied at the time of application
or renewal if the Board determines that the licensee:

1. Is guilty of fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure a license or
renewal of a license to practice respiratory care.

2. Is unfit or incompetent by reason of negligence, habits, or other causes of
incompetence.

3. Is habitually intemperate in the use of alcoholic beverage.

4. Is addicted to, or has improperly obtained, possessed, used, or distributed

habit-forming drugs or narcotics.

5. Is guilty of dishonest or unethical conduct.
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6. Has practiced respiratory care after his license or permit has expired,
lapsed, or has been suspended.

7. Has practiced respiratory care under cover of any permit or license
illegally or fraudulently obtained or issued.

8. Has violated, aided, or abetted others in violation of any provision of this
act.
9. Has engaged in any conduct considered by the Board to be detrimental to

the profession of respiratory care.

10. Failed to disclose to an employer, upon the written request of the
employer, any potential conflict of interest, including but not limited to
concurrent employment by both a Durable Medical Equipment Company
and/or a Home Health Company, and a Hospital or Clinic.

11. Failed to service a patient and/or equipment in a home setting as required
by a contract to which the Licensee is a party.

12. Has participated in a Hospital or Clinical Agency setting in a "captive
referral arrangement"”, whereby patients were directed to utilize a
particular supplier of home medical equipment unless so directed by
Hospital or Clinic policy.

13. Failed to follow the principles of ethical professional behavior.

14. Has had a license to practice any health related profession revoked,
suspended, placed on probation, reprimanded, or censured, in any
jurisdiction.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-57-13.

Rule 9.8.2 Summary Suspension: The Board may summarily suspend a license
without a hearing, simultaneously with the filing of a formal complaint and
notice of hearing, if the Board determines that:

1. The health, safety, or welfare of the general public is in immediate danger;
or

2. The licensee's physical capacity to practice his profession is in issue; or

3. The licensee's mental capacity to practice his profession is in issue.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-57-13.

Rule 9.8.3 Complaints: All complaints concerning a licensee, his business, or
professional practice, shall be reviewed by the Department. Each
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complaint received shall be logged, recording at a minimum the following

information:
1. licensee's name
2. name of the complaining party, if known;
3. date of complaint;
4. brief statement of complaint; and
5. disposition.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.8.4 Investigation: All complaints will be evaluated, and if deemed necessary,
investigated, by the authorized employee of the Department.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-57-13.
Rule 9.8.5 Notice of Charges and Hearing:

1. Following the investigative process, the Department may file formal
charges against the licensee. Such formal complaint shall, at a minimum,
inform the licensee of the facts which are the basis of the charge and
which are specific enough to enable the licensee to defend against the
charges.

2. Each licensee, whose conduct is the subject of a formal charge which
seeks to impose disciplinary action against the licensee, shall be served
notice of the formal charge at least fifteen (15) days before the date of
hearing. A hearing shall be presided over by the Board or the Board's
designee. Service shall be considered to have been given if the notice
was personally received by the licensee, or the notice was mailed
certified, return receipt requested, to the licensee at the licensee's last
known address as listed with the state agency.

3. The notice of the formal hearing shall consist at a minimum of the
following information:

a. The time, place, and date of hearing;

b. That the licensee shall appear personally at the hearing and may
be represented by counsel;

C. That the licensee shall have the right to produce withesses and
evidence in the licensee's behalf and shall have the right to cross-
examine adverse witnesses and evidence;
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d. That the hearing could result in disciplinary action being taken
against the licensee's license;

e. That rules for the conduct of these hearings exist and it may be in
the licensee's best interest to obtain a copy; and

f. That the Board, or its designee, shall preside at the hearing and
following the conclusion of the hearing shall make findings of facts,
conclusions of law and recommendations, separately stated, to the
Board as to what disciplinary action, if any, should be imposed on
the licensee.

4. The Board or its designee shall hear evidence produced in support of the
formal charges and contrary evidence produced by the licensee. At the
conclusion of the hearing, the Board shall issue an order within sixty (60)
days.

5. Disposition of any complaints may be made by consent order or stipulation
between the Board and the licensee.

6. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of public record and
shall be preserved pursuant to state law.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.8.6 Board Sanctions: The Board may impose any of the following sanctions,
singly or in combination, when it finds that a licensee is guilty of any of the
above offenses:

1. Revocation of the license;

2. Suspension of the license, for any period of time;

3. Issue a letter of reprimand to the licensee;

4. Place a license on probationary status and require the licensee to submit

to any of the following:

a. report regularly to the board upon matters which are the basis of
probation;
b. continue to renew professional education until a satisfactory degree

of skill has been attained in those areas which are the basis of
probation; or

C. such other reasonable requirements or restrictions as are proper;
5. Refuse to renew a license; or
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6. Revoke probation which has been granted and impose any other
disciplinary action in this subsection when the requirements of probation
have not been fulfilled or have been violated.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.8.7  Appeal: Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Board shall have a
right of appeal to the Circuit Court of the county of the residence of the
licensee as it appears on the record, in the manner provided for in the Act
and the Laws of the State of Mississippi.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Subchapter 9: Exceptions and Exemptions

Rule 9.9.1 Exceptions: No person shall practice respiratory care or represent
himself to be a respiratory care practitioner unless he is licensed by the
Board, except as otherwise provided in this section.

1. The person is involved in the practice of respiratory care which is an
integral part of the program of study by students enrolled in a respiratory
care education program recognized by the Joint Review Committee for
Respiratory Therapy Education and the American Medical Association
Council on Allied Health Education or their successors. Unlicensed
students enrolled in respiratory therapy education programs shall be
identified as "Student-RCP" and shall only provide respiratory care under
direct clinical supervision. Direct Clinical Supervision shall mean under
the direct control of a clinical instructor of the respiratory care education
program in which the unlicensed student is enrolled, or his designee. The
clinical instructor or his designee shall be a Licensed Respiratory Care
Practitioner in the State of Mississippi, who shall be readily accessible and
accountable at all times when respiratory care is being provided by the
unlicensed student. It shall be a violation of these regulations for an
unlicensed student to receive compensation for providing respiratory care
services. It shall also be a violation of these regulations to knowingly
compensate an unlicensed student for providing respiratory care services.

2. Self-care by a patient, or gratuitous care by a friend or family member who
does not represent or hold himself out to be a respiratory care practitioner.

3. Respiratory care services rendered in the course of an emergency.

4. Persons in the military services or working in federal facilities shall be

exempted from the provisions of this act when functioning in the course of
their assigned duties.
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5. The respiratory care practitioner is engaged in performing advances in the
art and techniques of respiratory care learned through formalized or
specialized training.

6. Nothing in these regulations is intended to limit, preclude, or otherwise
interfere with the practices of other persons and health providers licensed
by appropriate agencies of the State of Mississippi.

7. An individual, who, by passing an examination which includes content in
one or more of the functions included in these regulations, shall not be
prohibited from performing such procedures for which he was tested, so
long as the testing body offering the examination is certified by the
National Commission for Health Certifying Agencies or its equivalent, so
long as the individual is a licensed health care provider in the state of
Mississippi.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 8§73-57-13.

Rule 9.9.2 Good Samaritan Act: Licensee's regulated pursuant to these rules and
regulations are covered by the "Good Samaritan Act" of the State of
Mississippi.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Subchapter 10: [Reserved]

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Subchapter 11: Criminal Offenses and Punishment

Rule 9.11.1 Offenses: Itis a misdemeanor for any person to:

1. Sell, fraudulently obtain, or furnish any respiratory care permit, license,
record, or aid or abet therein.

2. Practice respiratory care under cover of any respiratory care diploma,
permit, license, or record illegally or fraudulently obtained or issued.

3. Practice respiratory care unless duly licensed to do so by the Mississippi
State Board of Health.

4. Impersonate in any manner or pretend to be a respiratory care practitioner
or use the title "Licensed Respiratory Care Practitioner," the letters
"L.R.C.P." or any other words, letters, signs, symbols, or devices to
indicate the person using them is a licensed respiratory care practitioner,
unless duly authorized by license or permit.
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5. Practice respiratory care during the time his license or permit is
suspended, revoked, lapsed, or expired.

6. Fail to notify the board of the suspension, probation, or revocation of any
past or currently held licenses, required to practice respiratory care in this
or any other jurisdiction.

7. Make false representations, impersonate, act as a proxy for another
person, allow, or aid any person to impersonate him in connection with
any examination or application for licensing or request to be examined or
licensed.

8. Otherwise violate any provisions of the Mississippi Respiratory Care
Practice Act.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.11.2 Punishment: Such misdemeanor shall, upon conviction, be punishable
by a fine of not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) or by
imprisonment for not more than six (6) months or by both fine and
imprisonment for each offense.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-57-13.
Subchapter 12: Fees

Rule 9.12.1 Method of Payment: In accordance with the enabling statute, the
following fees, where applicable, are payable to the State Board of Health
by certified check, cashier's check, or money order. Fees paid to the
State Board of Health are non-refundable.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. 873-57-13.
Rule 9.12.2 Schedule of Fees:
1. Application and Initial Licensure Fee-$75.00
2. Renewal Fee-$100.00
3. Temporary Permit Fee - $50.00
4. Reinstatement Fee - $200.00
5. Replacement Fee - $50.00
6. License Verification Fee - $25.00

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
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Rule 9.12.3 Examination Fee: Fees for examination are to be paid directly to the
appropriate testing organization.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Subchapter 13: ADMINISTRATIVE GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

Rule 9.13.1 Administrative Appeals: All persons aggrieved by a decision regarding
the initial application for licensure or the renewal of licensure shall have
the right of administrative appeal and a hearing to be conducted according
to the policy of the Department of Health.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.

Rule 9.13.2 Notification: Written notice will be provided to all applicants regarding
denial of an original license or a renewal license. Such notice shall
contain the reason thereof and shall offer the applicant an opportunity to
submit additional information pertinent to their application for a second
review by the Department.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
Rule 9.13.3 Hearing:

1. If requested in writing within the specified time frame, a hearing will be
provided in which the applicant may show cause why the license should
be granted or renewed.

2. Within sixty (60) days of the hearing, or other such time frame as
determined during the hearing, written findings of fact, together with a
recommendation for action on the license in question, shall be forwarded
to the State Health Officer. The State Health Officer shall decide what
action will be taken on the recommendation within five (5) days of its
receipt. Written notice shall be provided to the applicant.

SOURCE: Miss. Code Ann. §73-57-13.
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