New Member Appointed to Board of Health, Three Others Reappointed

July 10, 2019

This page has been automatically translated from English. MSDH has not reviewed this translation and is not responsible for any inaccuracies.

JACKSON, Miss. – Jim Perry of Jackson will be sworn in as the newest member of the Mississippi State Board of Health at the Board’s quarterly meeting in July. Perry was appointed to the Board by Governor Phil Bryant for a six-year term.

Perry is a managing director at Wells Fargo Securities where he is head of the Southern Region and the co-head of Structured Finance for the firm’s public finance department. He has led the structuring and execution of more than $15 billion of infrastructure financings across the country.

“A healthier Mississippi will result in more and better jobs, and a longer and better quality of life for our people. I am honored to join the Board of Health and work with the excellent department staff who are singularly focused on protecting and improving public health in Mississippi,” he said.

Perry’s public service experience includes serving as Deputy Chief of Staff and Policy Director for Governor Haley Barbour and as Legislative Director for U.S. Congressman Roger Wicker. He received a bachelor’s degree in Economics and Government from the University of Virginia.

Additional Board actions made by Gov. Bryant were the reappointments of Luke Lampton, M.D., FAAFP, of Magnolia; Elaine Anthony, Ph.D., of Madison; and Bobby Moody of Louisville.

Lampton was first appointed to the Board in 2006 and has since served in such positions as Chairman of the Board, Chairman of the Ad Hoc Task Force on Hospital Certificate of Need (CON), and Chairman of the Ad Hoc Task Force on Nephrology CON.

"I am honored to serve another term helping this essential state agency achieve its important work. The coming years will be challenging for our state and nation, and we must maintain the high quality of our department in order to face those serious public health challenges. I look forward to working with my fellow board members to impact positively the health of all Mississippians,” said Lampton.

Anthony has been a Board member since 2007 and has served on various Board committees such as Audit, Legislative, Primary Prevention and Health Education, the Ad Hoc Task Force on Hospital CON, and the Ad Hoc Task Force on Nephrology CON.

Moody, a former State Legislator, was first appointed to the Board in 2014 and has served on both the Audit and Legislative committees.

Press Contact: MSDH Office of Communications, (601) 576-7667
Note to media: After hours or during emergencies, call 601-576-7400.

To locate a county health department clinic in your area or for more information on flu, visit the MSDH website at HealthyMS.com/flu.

Public notices prior to CON approval are available online at HealthyMS.com/con.

Last reviewed on Jul 10, 2019
Sign up for weekly public health updates by e-mail: 
Mississippi State Department of Health 570 East Woodrow Wilson Dr Jackson, MS 39216 866-HLTHY4U Contact and information

Facebook Twitter Instagram RSS

Accredited by the national Public Health Accreditation Board