MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS

In order to enroll in any public or private kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school in Mississippi, a student must provide the school with a:

Certificate of Immunization Compliance (Form 121) <u>MUST</u> be signed by the Regional Health <u>Officer</u>, a physician, or a nurse.

OR a

Certificate of Medical Exemption (Form 122 – **NOT** computer generated). <u>This form **MUST** be signed by the State Epidemiologist or Deputy State Epidemiologist</u> (refer to the Medical Exemption section for specific information).

The list of immunizations required is specified by the State Health Officer and is promulgated at least annually as directed by state statute. All vaccines are to be given at the appropriate age and intervals according to ACIP recommendations. The required vaccines are listed below.

Mississippi School Entry Immunization Requirements^a

Vaccine/Antigen	Number of Doses
Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP) ^b	5 ^c
Polio	4 ^d
Hepatitis	3
Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)	2 ^e
Varicella (chickenpox)	2 ^f

- a. All children entering a Mississippi school (any grade) for the first time will be required to have the above listed immunizations. This includes Pre-K 4 year olds 12th grade.
- b. Children entering a Mississippi school after their 7th birthday who do not meet the above DTaP requirements, will need at least 3 total doses of diphtheria/tetanus containing vaccine (Td). Tdap should be used as 1 of the 3 diphtheria/tetanus containing vaccines (preferably as the last of the 3 doses) for children aged 10 years and older. Refer to the <u>Advisory Committee on Immunizations</u> Practices (ACIP) catch up schedule.
- c. If the 4th dose is received on or after the 4th birthday, the 5th dose is not required.
- d. The final dose in the series should be administered at 4 years of age, regardless of number of previous doses. A 4th dose is not necessary if the 3rd dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months following the previous dose.
- e. MMR vaccine may only be waived if there is a documented physician's diagnosis of previous infection with measles, mumps, and rubella disease or a serological confirmation of immunity to measles, mumps, and rubella.
- f. Varicella vaccine will be waived for evidence of past infection, including past history of chickenpox or a serological confirmation of immunity to chickenpox.

Mississippi School Entry Immunization Requirements^a

Vaccine/Antigen	Number of Doses
Tdap (7 th grade entry)	1 ^a

a. Tdap administered at 7 - 10 years: Children aged 7 - 9 years who receive Tdap should receive the routine Tdap dose at age 11 - 12 years. Children aged 10 years who receive Tdap do not need to receive the routine Tdap dose at age 11 - 12 years.